Sarah Angst Fine Artist & Printmaker: The Business

My love of printmaking became a business when we moved to Montana 7 years ago. We had a little financial cushion from selling our house in Duluth, so it seemed like the perfect time to go for it and try to live my dream as a professional artist. I started by building up a body of work and taking it to art fairs across the country. The public response to my linocuts was great, and my dream became a reality.

For 3 years I showed my work at about 20 art fairs per year. It was busy and labor intensive, with lots of traveling. I enjoyed many aspects of art fairs, but they were exhausting and it was hard to be on the road by myself so much. Plus my husband and I wanted to start a family and I knew I couldn’t be on the show circuit on my own with a baby.

Booth 2 (2)

In addition to my original block prints, I began making giclee reproductions, jewelry, and greeting cards showcasing my block printed imagery. I decided to start wholesaling these products to stores, and got my work into a few more galleries. I was also given the opportunity to license one of my images to a greeting card company called “Artists To Watch”. In one year, they sold over 27,000 of that one card featuring my image. I only made about $0.04 a card in royalties, but it was nice to make an extra thousand bucks, and it got me thinking about the greeting card business and how I could possibly profit from it more myself.

unnamed
http://www.artiststowatch.com/hc183.html

I had always been reluctant to bring and sell greeting cards at art fairs. I wanted customers to buy my more expensive originals or reproductions instead of a $3.00 card. But I realized I always bought other artist’s cards as affordable souvenirs, and that they are a great way for people to collect artists’ work and information. That is when I started thinking more seriously about expanding my business. Perhaps if I mass produced my own line of greeting cards and sold them wholesale I could make a little more than $0.04 and we could see what happens.

cards
http://www.sarahangst.com/store/products/All-Cards/1.php

So that is how Sarah Angst Cards came to be two and a half years ago. It is still in its infancy, but my greeting cards are in about 350 stores, and I am hopeful that my business will continue to grow and evolve. I now have a baby boy named Hayden as well, so it is wonderful to be able to be with him most days, and making income from home instead of on the road.

Hartley Wants to Play Ball 3 (2)

I am so thankful for all the support I have received over the years. I am forever grateful to all those who buy, sell, send, and save my cards.

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Business

Leave a Reply

